One Night Stand: Louis C.K.

I remember when we first got HBO.  One of the greatest things about it was watching the stand up comics.  The first one I saw was On Location: George Kirby.  I thought it was incredibly funny.  Through the years I saw some classics and some truly boring sets.  I remember Norm Crosby being particularly funny and Redd Foxx being hysterical.  Amazingly I don’t really recall the horrible ones.  I might be able to point them out if I looked back through my HBO guides, but none of them etched a place in my brain. 

Chick McGee on the Bob & Tom Show once called Louis C.K. one of his favorite comedians.  I wasn’t really all that familiar with Louis, but when I went to Big Lots last fall and found a bunch of HBO DVDs, I took Chick’s advice and picked up One Night Stand: Louis C.K..  Monday night I decided to put Louis’ stand up DVD on and see what I thought.  The DVD features his One Night Stand appearance as well as an earlier appearance on one of the Young Comedians Specials.  The One Night Stand is very funny.  Much of it deals with his struggle to be a good father.  Lots of it deals with sexual topics.  All of it is pretty darn funny.  His bit on the guy with the “Honk if you love America” sign standing by the road presents a counter argument that I had never thought of before, and his discussion of his wife asking him why he didn’t start the washer after he loaded it and put in the cleaner, contains observations that only a husband can sympathize with.

The DVD seems to have been released originally to coincide with the launch of Louis C.K.’s show for HBO, Lucky Louie.  The DVD features a behind the scenes look at the show as well as a sneak peek.  Ironically, I also picked up the entire first season of Lucky Louie at Big Lots in that same sale.

One Night Stand: Louis C.K. rates a 8 1/2 on the Night Flight scale.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment