The Amazing Johnathan Wrong On Every Level Uncensored

I saw part of The Amazing Johnathan’s special on Comedy Central one day as I was getting ready for work.  I thought it was pretty funny, and wished that I had more time to watch it and that it was censored.  Imagine my surprise when I was looking at Books A Million on Saturday and ran into the uncensored DVD of the show.  I snatched it up (along with a copy of Howard The Duck) and added it to my collection.  Of course since I still needed to watch a DVD for Saturday, guess which one I chose.  Yes, The Amazing Johnathan Wrong On Every Level Uncensored.

If you’re not familiar with The Amazing Johnathan, he is a comedian and a magician.  His magic is pretty good, but he never lets it stand in the way of a good joke.  He starts a card trick at one point, but he has no intention of actually performing a typical magical card trick.  The whole set up is part of a joke, actually a series of jokes, all based around magician’s card tricks. 

Johnathan is not afraid of a little blood and gore either.  His ring trick ends with his “volunteer” getting his tongue ripped out and blood flying everywhere like watermelon at a Gallagher show.  He does tricks with razor blades as well.  His act is not for the squeamish.

Another part of Johnathan’s show that I really enjoyed was his ditzy sidekick Psychic Tanya (Penny Wiggins).  Penny allows for Johnathan to do some dumb blonde jokes, but she also delivers a very funny bit involving Blue Man Group tickets.  The first time I saw it, I laughed my ass off. 

The DVD is a great bargain as it also contains a bunch of deleted scenes, Johnathan’s performance on Premium Blend and his other Comedy Central show, Comedy Central Presents The Amazing Johnathan.  If you like stand up and you like magic, I can’t recommend this enough.  It’s hilarious.  At 42 minutes, Wrong On Every Level earns a 10 on the Night Flight scale.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment